



ABCFP Awards Honour Forest Professionals From Across BC

By Association of BC Forest Professionnals

February 26, 2018, Vancouver—The Association of BC Forest Professionals (ABCFP) presented awards to eight forest professionals from Victoria, Clearwater, Houston, Nelson, and Port McNeill for their contributions to the forest stewardship and the sustainable management of BC's forests.

The awards were presented during the association's annual conference February 22 in Victoria.

Two individuals were also named honorary members for their outstanding contributions to forestry and the profession.

"The ABCFP recognizes these individuals because of their many years of public service through their dedication and expertise in pursuit of sound forest management practices. Congratulations to all award winners; their achievements serve as an inspiration to our members who diligently and passionately work day in and day out to ensure BC's forests are sustainably managed for future generations," said Mauro Calabrese, RPF, RPBio, and ABCFP past-president.

Award winners:



Lorne Bedford, RPF, Victoria

Distinguished Forest Professional of the Year

Lorne Bedford is the Manager of Harvesting and Silviculture Practices with the Ministry of Forests, Lands, Natural Resource Operations and Rural Development where he has played an important role in the strategic and scientific work vital for seedlings to become the future timber supply.



Wes Bieber, RPF, Clearwater

Professional Forester of the Year

Since 2008, Wes Bieber has operated forestry consulting firm, Longfellows Natural Resource Management Solutions, in Clearwater. Nominations for Wes spoke extensively of his professionalism, his understanding of scope of practice, his high level of ethics, and his influence and support for new forest professionals.



Walter Tymkow, RFT, LL, Houston

Forest Technologist of the Year

Walter Tymkow has worked in the forest sector for 38 years, the past 22 years with Canfor where he is responsible for managing all silviculture activities in Canfor's Houston operating areas, including developing annual business plan targets and managing contractors that plant eight million seedlings in the Houston area.



Erik Leslie, RPF, Nelson

Forest Innovation Award

Erik Leslie is the first winner of the ABCFP Forest Innovation Award. He manages the Harrop Procter Community Forest in the Kootenays where he has developed and implemented innovative ecosystem-based practices in the wildland urban interface, using carefully designed partial cutting to provide timber to the community forest mill, while protecting water and restoring ecological integrity.



Kathy Hopkins, RPF, Victoria

Climate Change Innovator Award

Through her work for the Ministry of Forests, Lands, Natural Resource Operations and Rural Development, Kathy Hopkins has been instrumental in developing BC's science, data and tools foundation and policy framework for climate change adaptation. Her work has provided the science-policy foundation for the ministry as it incorporates climate change considerations into its daily business.



Mike DesRochers, RPF, Port McNeill

Jim Rodney Memorial Volunteer of the Year Award

Mike DesRochers is a practices forester with BC Timber Sales in Port McNeill, where he has been an outstanding volunteer with the ABCFP. He is a past member of the Professional Practice Committee, served on the Climate Change subcommittee; participated in the ABCFP Career Learning development workshop; and currently sponsors seven enrolled members.



The association also inducted **Darlene Oman and Don Pigott** as honorary members.

Darlene Oman of Victoria is the Director of Corporate Performance and Communications for the Forest Practices Board, where she has worked for the past 20 years.

Don Pigott, of Ladysmith, has dedicated his life to the advancement and improvement of silviculture in BC. He is the founder of Yellow Point Propagation Ltd; he has a valued sense of history of the tree seed business and is a recognized expert in the field of cone collection, seed processing, seed production, tree improvement

and forest regeneration.

As one of the members who nominated Don wrote: "No forester is too young, old, inexperienced, or seasoned to learn something from Don."

Congratulations to all the winners. Photos available on request.

- 30 -

The Association of BC Forest Professionals is responsible for registering and regulating BC's professional foresters. It is the largest professional forestry association in Canada.

For more information:

Dean Pelkey, Communications Director Direct: 604-331-2321; E-mail: dpelkey@abcfp.ca www.abcfp.ca