SFPA Announces 2022 Sawmill Safety Awards

The Southern Forest Products Association
August 24, 2023
Category: Health & Safety
Region: United States, US East

The Southern Forest Products Association has announced the 2022 John Edgar Rhodes Sawmill Safety Excellence Awards, and there are seven mills receiving 2022 Sawmill Safety Awards with zero incidents among them. …“In an industry where worker safety is paramount, it is no small accomplishment to operate without any reportable incidents,” said Eric Gee, SFPA’s executive director. The SFPA Safety Awards embody the impact, dedication and legacy of John Edgar Rhodes, one of the lumber industry’s most revered and celebrated leaders.

  • Division One: (mills that produce 50 million board feet or less annually): McShan Lumber, McShan, Alabama; and Weyerhaeuser, Zwolle, Louisiana.
  • Division Two: (mills that produce 51 to 150 million board feet annually): Lampe & Malphrus Lumber, Smithfield, North Carolina; West Fraser, Fitzgerald, Georgia; West Fraser, Lake Butler, Florida; and Weyerhaeuser, New Bern, North Carolina.
  • Division Three: (mills that produce more than 150 million board feet annually): Weyerhaeuser, Millport, Alabama.

Read More